Maserati MC20 / Cielo vs Ferrati 296 GTB / GTS : the duel !

Two new supercars, available in coupe and cabriolet, each with a new V6 engine. Two iconic Italian brands Maserati and Ferrari. You hesitate between the two? Here is our duel Maserati MC20 coupe / Cielo vs Ferrari 296 GTB / GTS.

maserati-MC20-vs-ferrari-296-gtb

Design

The design of a headgear is something very subjective. On the one hand the Maserati MC20 marks the renewal of the brand in terms of design, on which will be based the future Maserati, for example the new Grecale and the future GranTurismo. On the other side the Ferrari 296 GTB takes the new Ferrari design codes inaugurated with the SF90.

Equipment on board

In the Maserati as in the Ferrari, the interior breathes sportiness. Seats, steering wheel, paddles, ... the only small "design" advantage would be for the Ferrari which integrates the multimedia screen in the dashboard for the driver as well as for the co-driver. On the Maserati side, the central multimedia screen has a practical advantage. The audio system is entrusted to Sonus Faber for the Maserati. This is not specified for Ferrari.

Engine

For the Maserati MC20 and Ferrari 296, two new V6 engines. So goodbye to the V8 for both brands. However, these engines have a lot to offer!

3.0L V6 90° Maserati engine

Unveiled at the presentation of my Maserati MC20, the V6 Nettuno is announced by the brand with the trident as a brand new engine that takes technologies from the F1.

It offers a maximum power of 630 hp at 7500 rpm, a torque of 730 Nm between 3000 and 5000 rpm and a maximum speed of 8000 rpm.

However, this engine is not so new because it is similar to the Alfa Romeo V6 of 510 hp, which itself is taken from the V8 of the Ferrari Portofini to which 2 cylinders have been removed. So an evolution but not new.

3.0L V6 120° Ferrari engine

In the recent history of Ferrari, this is the first time a V6 has been unveiled. Not without making purists cringe. It is at the same time a hybrid thermal / electric engine.

It offers a maximum power of 830 hp at 8000 rpm, a torque of 740 Nm and a maximum speed of 8500 rpm.

This new engine, codename F163, is open to 120° which leaves more space for the turbos and the MGU-K electrical module is positioned between the engine and the gearbox, and in the axis of the heat engine.

As you can see in the official videos, for a V6, the sound of the Ferrari is exceptional.

Dimensions

Contrary to what one might think from the pictures, the Ferrari 296 GTB is slightly lower and shorter than the Maserati MC20. The wheelbase is thus also 10 cm shorter. The width is similar.

HeightWidthLengthWheelbase
Maserati MC201,22 m1,96 m4,67 m2,7 m
Ferrari 296 GTB1,18 m1,96 m4,56 m2,6 m

Performance

On the performance side, at Maserati a 3.0L V6 90° of 630 hp faces a Ferrari 3.0L V6 120° 663 hp + electric motor 167 hp. If the power of the combustion engine is close, the electric motor allows the Ferrari to offer 200 hp more than the Maserati. So, it could be on the scale because of the battery of the Ferrari, but not at all!

WeightPower / torque0 à 1000 à 200Vmax
Maserati MC201468 kg630 hp / 730 Nm2.9 sec8.8 sec325 km/h
Maserati MC20 Cielo1540 kg630 hp / 730 Nm3.0 sec9.2 sec320 km/h
Ferrari 296 GTB1470 kg830 hp / 900 Nm2.9 sec7.3 sec330 km/h
Ferrari 296 GTS1540 kg830 hp / 900 Nm2.9 sec7.6 sec330 km/h

The Ferrari's electric motor has the advantage of offering more performance, lower fuel consumption, 25 km of all-electric range and lower CO2 emissions. 149 g/km for the Ferrari against 262 g/km for the Maserati.

Price

The Ferrari, because of its positioning and its performances is inevitably above the price of the Maserati... before malus! As you can see below, with a French malus, without options, the Ferrari 296 is cheaper than the Maserati MC20. Thanks to the PHEV technology.

Price includes VATMalusPrice after malus FR
Maserati MC20235 200 €40 000 €275 200 €
Maserati MC20 Cielo265 400 €40 000 €305 400 €
Ferrari 296 GTB272 000 €898 €272 898 €
Ferrari 296 GTS300 000 €898 €300 989 €

Conclusion : Ferrari !

More powerful, real new engine, exceptional sound for a V6 and, price after FR malus below the MC20, the Ferrari 296 wins this duel hands down. The only drawback is the delivery time, which is longer for Ferrari than for Maserati. If you want to be exceptional, the Maserati MC20 is the first supercar of the Italian brand and remains rarer than a Ferrari...

6 Comments

Leave a Reply
  1. Answer typo to delete: it is indeed the engine of the Ferrari Portofino that is taken and not Portofini 😉

  2. At this level, the line counts more than the consumption or the performances which will never be exploited, and I find the Maserati just sublime...

  3. Frankly my dream car is the MC20 but since the Cielo version came out that has changed, the Ferrari is great too and has a better engine but despite the power I still prefer the MC20 Cielo which I find more beautiful.
    This is only my opinion and I know that others will prefer the Ferrari GTB or GTS and I am not against far from there! xD
    Otherwise good day to all!

  4. It's not fair to compare prices without mentioning options.
    There was a comparison in Sport Auto. With malus and options, the 296 was priced at 444 000€.
    Full option and with malus the MC 20 360 000€.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Maserati MC20 / Cielo vs Ferrati 296 GTB / GTS : le duel !

Deux nouvelles supercars, disponibles en coupé et en cabriolet, avec un nouveau moteur V6 pour chacunes. Deux marques italiennes emblématiques Maserati et Ferrari. Vous hésitez entre les deux ? Voici notre duel Maserati MC20 coupé / Cielo vs Ferrari 296 GTB / GTS.

maserati-MC20-vs-ferrari-296-gtb

Design

Le design d’une voiure est quelque chose de très subjectif. D’un côté la Maserati MC20 marque le renouveau de la marque au niveau de design, sur lequel seront basées les futures Maserati, par exemple le nouveau Grecale et la future GranTurismo. De l’autre côté la Ferrari 296 GTB prend les nouveaux codes design Ferrari inaugurés avec la SF90.

Equipement à bord

Dans la Maserati comme dans la Ferrari, l’intérieur respire la sportivité. Sièges, volant, palettes, … le seul petit avantage « design » serait pour la Ferrari qui intègre l’écran multimédia dans le tableau de bord que ce soit pour le pilote comme pour le co-pilote. Du côté de Maserati l’écran multimédia central a un avantage pratique. Le système audio est confié à Sonus faber pour la Maserati. Cela n’est pas précisé pour Ferrari.

Moteur

Pour les Maserati MC20 et Ferrari 296, deux nouveaux moteurs V6. Adieu donc le V8 pour les deux marques. Pourtant, ces moteurs en ont dans le ventre !

Moteur 3.0L V6 90° Maserati

Dévoilé lors de la présentation de ma Maserati MC20, le V6 Nettuno est annoncé par la marque au trident comme un tout nouveau moteur qui reprend des technologies de la F1.

Il offre une puissance max de 630 ch à 7500 tr/min, un couple de 730 Nm entre 3000 et 5000 tr/min et un régime max de 8000 tr/min.

Pourtant, ce moteur n’est pas si nouveau car il est similaire au V6 Alfa Romeo de 510 ch, qui lui même est repris du V8 de la Ferrari Portofini auquel on a enlevé 2 cylindres. Donc une évolution mais pas nouveau.

Moteur 3.0L V6 120° Ferrari

De l’histoire récente de Ferrari, c’est la première fois qu’un V6 est dévoilé. Non sans faire grincer les dents aux puristes. Il s’agit en même temps d’un moteur hybride thermique / électrique.

Il offre une puissance max de 830 ch à 8000 tr/min, un couple de 740 Nm et un régime max de 8500 tr/min.

Ce nouveau moteur, nom de code F163, est ouvert à 120° ce qui laisse plus de place aux turbos et le module électrique MGU-K est positionné entre le moteur et la boîte de vitesses, et dans l’axe du moteur thermique.

Comme vous pouvez le voir dans les vidéos officielles, pour un V6, la sonorité de la Ferrari est exceptionnelle.

Dimensions

Contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait penser sur les photos, la Ferrari 296 GTB est légèrement plus basse et plus courte que la Maserati MC20. L’empattement est ainsi aussi plus court de 10 cm. La largeur est similaire.

HauteurLargeurLongeurEmpattement
Maserati MC201,22 m1,96 m4,67 m2,7 m
Ferrari 296 GTB1,18 m1,96 m4,56 m2,6 m

Performances

Du côté des performances, chez Maserati un 3.0L V6 90° de 630 ch affronte un Ferrari 3.0L V6 120° 663 ch + moteur électrique 167 ch. Si au niveau du moteur thermique la puissance est proche, le moteur électrique permet à la Ferrari de proposer 200 ch de plus que la Maserati. Alors, cela pourrait se jouer sur la balance à cause de la batterie de la Ferrari, mais pas du tout !

PoidsPuissance / couple0 à 1000 à 200Vmax
Maserati MC201468 kg630 ch / 730 Nm2,9 sec8,8 sec325 km/h
Maserati MC20 Cielo1540 kg630 ch / 730 Nm3,0 sec9,2 sec320 km/h
Ferrari 296 GTB1470 kg830 ch / 900 Nm2.9 sec7.3 sec330 km/h
Ferrari 296 GTS1540 kg830 ch / 900 Nm2.9 sec7.6 sec330 km/h

Le moteur électrique de la Ferrari à l’avantage d’offrir plus de perforances, une consommation de carburant moindre, 25 km d’autonomie en tout électrique et un co2 en baisse. 149 g/km pour la Ferrari contre 262 g/km pour la Maserati.

Prix

La Ferrari, de part son positionnement et ses performances est forcément au dessus du prix de la Maserati… avant malus ! Comme vous pouvez le voir ci-dessous, avec un malus français, sans options, la Ferrari 296 se révèle moins chère que la Maserati MC20. Merci la technologie PHEV.

Prix TTCMalusPrix après malus FR
Maserati MC20235 200 €40 000 €275 200 €
Maserati MC20 Cielo265 400 €40 000 €305 400 €
Ferrari 296 GTB272 000 €898 €272 898 €
Ferrari 296 GTS300 000 €898 €300 989 €

Conclusion : Ferrari !

Plus performante, vrai nouveau moteur, sonorité exceptionelle pour un V6 et, prix après malus FR en dessous de la MC20, la Ferrari 296 remporte haut la main ce duel. Le seul inconvénient sera le délai de livraison, plus long chez Ferrari que chez Maserati. Si vous voulez faire dans l’exceptionnel, la Maserati MC20 est la premère supercar de la marque italienne et reste plus rare qu’une Ferrari…

6 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire
  1. Réponse typo à supprimer : c’est bien le moteur de la Ferrari Portofino qui est repris et non Portofini 😉

  2. À ce niveau la ligne compte plus que la consommation ou les performances qui ne seront jamais exploitées, et je trouve la Maserati juste sublime…

  3. Franchement ma voiture de rêve c’est la MC20 mais depuis que la version Cielo est sortit ça à changer, la Ferrari est super aussi et possède un meilleur moteur mais malgré la puissance je préfère quand même la MC20 Cielo que je trouve quand même plus belle.
    Ceci n’est que mon avis et je sais que d’autre vont préfèrer la Ferrari GTB ou GTS et je ne suis pas contre loin de là ! xD
    Sinon bonne journée à tous !

  4. C’est injuste de comparer les prix sans parler des options.
    Il y avait un comparatif dans Sport Auto. Clés en mains avec malus et options la 296 sortait à 444 000€
    Full option et avec malus la MC 20 360 000€.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.